Advisory Committee

PAINS’ Advisory Committee is a select group of leaders including those advocating on behalf of people living with chronic pain and those working diligently to contain the opioid epidemic. PAINS members provide expertise and advice to fulfill the mission to transform how pain is perceived, judged and treated.


  • Advocate for complete implementation of the National Pain Strategy
  • Educate and engage the media, public and policymakers about chronic pain
  • Promote patient-centered comprehensive pain management
  • Broaden and clarify the relationship between chronic pain and the opioid epidemic
  • Serve as a collaborator and convener


Ken Babb
Distinguished Engineer
Retired IBM

Pat Bruckenthal, PhD, PAAN, ANP, APRN-BC
Clinical Associate Professor
Stony Brook University, School of Nursing

Chester (Trip) Buckenmaier, MD
Program Director
Defense and Veterans Center for Integrative Pain Management

Jan Chambers
National Fibromyalgia & Chronic Pain Association

Paul Christo, MD, MBA
Associate Professor
Director, Multidisciplinary Pain Fellowship
Director, Blaustein Pain Treatment Center
John Hopkins Medicine

Jim Cleary, MD FAChPM
Associate Professor of Medicine
Medical Oncology Section
Director of Palliative Medicine
University of Wisconsin
School of Medicine and Public Health

Peggy Compton, RN, PhD, FAAN
Professor & Associate Dean
Research, Evaluation and Graduate Programs
Georgetown University
School of Nursing and Health Studies

Sandra Dixon, LMSW
Director of Behavioral Health Services
Department of Health & Human Services

Larry Driver, MD
Professor, Department of Pain Medicine
Division of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Kate Galluzzi, DO, CMD, FACOFP
Professor and Chair of Department of Geriatrics
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine

Mike Hockley, JD
Spencer Fane

Katie Horton, RN, MPH, JD
Research Professor
George Washington University
Department of Health Policy and Management

Jim Lemons, EdD
Director and Medical Psychologist
Lemons Center for Behavioral Pain Management

Jeff Levi, PhD
Professor Of Health Management & Policy
The George Washington University
Milken Institute School of Public Health

Kim Nelson, LAC, MPA
Regional Administrator, Region VII

Orvie Prewitt
Program Coordinator
Kansas City Regional Arthritis Center

Daniel Raymond
Policy Director
Harm Reduction Coalition

Jason Schwalb, MD
Neurological Surgeon
Henry Ford Health Systems

Anne St. Peter
Global Prairie

Cindy Steinberg
National Director of Policy and Advocacy
U.S. Pain Foundation

Greg Terman, MD, PhD
Professor, Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
Director of the Acute Pain Service
University of Washington Medical Center

Bob Twillman, PhD
Executive Director
Academy of Integrative Pain Management

Chris Veasley
Co-Founder and Director
Chronic Pain Research Alliance

Jennifer Wagner
Western Pain Society

Bill Walter, ND
Naturopathic Physician
Community Health Centers of Lane County

Lynn Webster, MD
Vice President of Scientific Affairs
PRA Healthsciences

Lonnie Zeltzer, MD
Professor of Pediatrics
Anesthesiology, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Director of Pediatric Pain Program
University of South California – Los Angeles
David Geffen School of Medicine
UCLA Mattel Children’s Hospital

Pin It on Pinterest